My Backyard Chickens

17 May

I’ve had chickens in my backyard for over ten years now.  They are an easy pet that have provided me with great pest control and yummy eggs to eat.  This past Spring my husband, Michael, and I decided to take our hobby one step further- raise meat chickens!

My sweet 'silkie'

At this site you can purchase laying chickens or processed meat chickens.  We do it for our pleasure and to torture (really, its character building)  our children.  At this point it is not a money-making venture but rather an idea that was sprouted at the dinner table. One night we were brainstorming how to get closer to the food we eat and create more sustainability on our 2.5 acres in the high desert of Santa Fe County.  Like most of Michael and my ideas we got a little carried away and ordered more baby chickens than we could ever eat.  Our hope for this summer is to share our healthy chickens with our neighbors and get people involved in the backyard chicken craze (or at least I’m trying to create that ‘craze’)!

My 'sultan' (in front) backed by my 'mille fleur' and 'polish'

Why a blog?  Well, I started blogging a little less than a year ago and I when I thought of ways to get the word out about my chicken passion it was what was close to home.

To contact me email me at chickentopia@gmail.com

4 Responses to “My Backyard Chickens”

  1. Sharon Frey Prewitt June 8, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    we will buy a chicken. I don’t know if I will eat it, but dad will and we could have it for a dinner I want to have soon.

  2. mollyonmoney June 8, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    I got you on the list!

  3. Jeanette June 26, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I bought 2 of your chickens for my husband to eat — we roasted the first one today (yes, even though it’s this hot) and the meat is fantastic. I’m a vegetarian, but if I were to eat meat it would be this kind — fresh, pasture raised, fed right without the usual chemicals & crap, and butchered right on site by the people who raised it. You did a fantastic job of cleaning & packaging the meat, too! We are very thankful and very impressed.

    • mollyonmoney June 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      Jeanette,
      Thanks so much for your feedback! Any help in getting the word out about our chickens is much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

